Austin Texas DWI Lawyer Ken Gibson
812 San Antonio St., Suite 100 • Austin, TX 78701
Submit Your DWI Case Online for a Free, No Obligation Case Evaluation
Map & Directions
You can fight these charges! If you have been arrested in Austin and are interested in discussing your case with Ken Gibson, you can call him today. He will be more than happy to give you a free, no obligation DWI case evaluation.
Being arrested for driving while intoxicated (or DWI) can be scary. Between the bright lights of the police car and the realization that you are going to jail, it is stressful to think about the consequences of one night’s indiscretion.
If your or a loved one has been arrested for DWI in Austin, not all is lost. While a DWI conviction carries many harsh penalties, an experienced defense attorney will be able to have the charges minimized, if not dropped altogether.
DWI is the most complicated field of law. The rules and regulations change frequently, and it would be extremely difficult to represent yourself in court. You need to find an attorney who focuses only on DWI to represent you during this trying time.
Ken Gibson can help. He has years of experience in successfully representing clients in DWI cases. Mr. Gibson has completed training by the National Highway Traffic Administration on how to administer field sobriety tests. He is also a certified Intoxilyzer 5000 operator and technician.
The first thing your attorney will help you with is keeping your driver’s license. If you were arrested for DWI, the officer gave you a notice of suspension for your driver’s license. Per Texas state law, you must request a hearing from the Department of Public Safety within 15 days to keep your license. If you do not, an automatic license revocation will take place.
The penalties for drunk driving are harsh. If convicted, the judge may order jail time, fines, court costs, and a driver’s license suspension. In addition to this, the Department of Public Safety will put a surcharge on your driver’s license, which can range from $1,000 to $2,000 per year for up to three years. This surcharge can get up to $6,000, depending on what your blood alcohol content (BAC) was or whether or not you took the breathalyzer tests.
You may also find it difficult to get affordable vehicle insurance, if you can even find a company to cover you at all.